2016-2017 Schedule of Tuition and Fees Charges
The fee schedule is maintained by the Cashier and Student Accounts Office.
A health service fee is required if living on campus regardless of hours and is optional for all others registered for fewer than nine hours.
See the Student Handbook for additional information regarding other fees and activities.
About Student Fees
Required student fees support programs, services, and facilities on the campus for which state funds are not available and/or cannot be used. Distance learners who take no courses on campus pay only the Educational & Technology Fee. Graduate students enrolled in fewer than 6 credit hours and undergraduates enrolled in fewer than 9 credit hours have the option of paying the health fee or they could pay for services at the “market rate” of the Greensboro community.
The student fee process begins with a panel of students and staff who meet from September-October each year. This committee shares their recommendations with the chancellor, who then shares the proposed fees with the university community at open tuition and fee forums. The chancellor uses the committee suggestions, comments from the public forums, and input from a variety of other sources to develop the tuition and fee recommendations that are presented to the Board of Trustees and the UNC Board of Governors.
- Campus Activities & Programs (Including student organizations and the Campus Activities Board)
- Campus Recreation
- Elliott University Center
- Equipment Replacement
- Facilities Maintenance (for non-academic and non-administrative facilities)
- Spartan Card Center
- Safety Escort (through University Police)
- Leadership & Service-Learning
- Multicultural Affairs
- Student Government General Fund
- Media Board
A UNCG graduate student who is registered for 9 credit hours or more may audit one course per semester with no additional charge. A UNCG graduate student who is registered for less than 9 credit hours may audit no more than two courses per semester and will be charged a fee of $15 per course. A UNCG graduate student who is registered for no credit hours will be charged a fee equal to the in-state or out-of-state tuition and fee rate of a 0-credit hour course for each course audited.
Registered auditors (persons not officially enrolled at UNCG) who do require a record of enrollment as an auditor should file a VISIONS form with The Graduate School and follow regular registration and payment procedures. A fee equal to the in-state or out-of-state tuition and fee rate of a 0-credit hour course will be charged for each course audited. Fees are payable in full at the time of registration.
Visiting Non-UNCG Students
Visiting auditors are classified as non-UNCG students who wish to take a course(s) without receiving a record of enrollment. Such individuals must apply to register through the Division of Continual Learning. A visiting auditor will not receive a record of enrollment and is charged a $125 fee for lecture courses. Visiting auditors are admitted to lecture courses when space is available with the approval of the department head in consultation with the instructor teaching the course requested.
To audit a 600- or 700-level course, a student must hold a bachelor’s degree.
Residence Status for Tuition Purposes
The tuition charge for persons who qualify as North Carolina residents for tuition purposes is substantially less than that for nonresidents. An explanation of the North Carolina law [General Statute 116-143.1] governing residence classification for tuition purposes is set forth in Appendix G of The Graduate Bulletin. A more complete explanation of the statute and the procedures under the statute is contained in A Manual to Assist the Public Higher Education Institutions in North Carolina in the Matter of Student Residence Classification for Tuition Purposes. The Manual is the controlling administrative statement of policy on this subject. Refer to the Policy Manual here.
It is the responsibility of the student to pay tuition at the rate charged and billed while an appeal is pending. In effect, the student who is classified as a nonresident at the time of registration pays the nonresident rate. Conversely, if a student is classified as a resident at the time of billing, he/she pays the resident rate. Any necessary adjustments in the rate paid will be made at the conclusion of the appeal.
Students or prospective students who believe that they are entitled to be classified as residents for tuition purposes should be aware that the process of requests and appeals can take a considerable amount of time and that applications for classification should not be delayed until registration.
Students who wish to receive a timely review of their residence status should submit their completed “Residency Reclassification Application” approximately 60-90 days in advance of the term for which they are seeking a review of their residence status. Residency applications are reviewed in the order in which they are received; failure to submit an application with proper documentation in a timely manner may delay the review process. The deadline to submit the Residency Reclassification Application is the 10th day of classes for the term in which the in-state classification is sought.
The determination of residence classification may be appealed to the Campus Residence Appeals Committee, and decisions of the Campus Residence Appeals Committee may be appealed to the State Residence Committee. A written statement of the appeals procedures is provided to every applicant or student receiving an out-of-state classification.
Qualifying active duty military members and the dependent relatives thereof are extended a “military grace period” if the military member is reassigned outside of North Carolina or retires while the member or dependent is enrolled in an institution of higher education. During this grace period, the military member or dependent relative thereof is eligible for the in-state tuition rate as long as he or she is continuously enrolled in the degree or other program in which he or she was enrolled at the time of the reassignment. Qualifying members and dependents also remain eligible to pay the in-state rate if the active duty member receives an Honorable Discharge so long as the member or dependent establishes legal residence in North Carolina within thirty days and is continuously enrolled in the degree or other program in which he or she was enrolled at the time of the Honorable Discharge.
Additionally, any nonresident North Carolina Guard Members in reserve or active status are eligible for the in-state rate and all applicable mandatory fees.
Application for this benefit must be made prior to the beginning of the first enrolled term of each academic year for which the benefit is sought. The person applying for this benefit has the burden of proving entitlement to it.
Also, for North Carolina residents serving in the armed forces, the law provides that, “no person shall lose his or her residence status for tuition purposes solely by reason of serving in the armed forces outside of this State.”
In order to be eligible for participation in the Tuition Waiver Program, an employee must be a permanent employee working thirty (30) or more hours per week for nine (9) or more months per calendar year. The employee must be participating in the NC Teacher’s and State Employee’s Retirement System or the UNC Optional Retirement Program. Each employee must apply for and be admitted through the appropriate admissions office within its specific deadlines. Courses must be registered for in accordance with the instructions of the program in which the student is admitted, and space must be available in the course. Employees must attend class outside his or her established work schedule, though departments are encouraged to offer flexible scheduling options to accommodate employee participation. During the term in which an employee enrolls in a course, that employee must continue to meet his or her normal employment obligations.
The employee must maintain employee status during the duration of the course. Otherwise, the employee shall be responsible for payment of applicable tuition and fees. However, this payment requirement shall not apply to an employee who is eligible under this policy at the time of enrollment in a course and is later reduced in force (SHRA) or separated for budgetary reasons (EHRA) prior to completion of the course. This exception does not apply to the end of a time limited position.
Tuition and fee charges will be waived for a maximum of three (3) courses per academic year with no limitation as to the number of courses that can be taken each term. Courses may be taken in any term: Fall, Spring, or Summer, so long as the limit of three (3) courses per academic year is not exceeded. The Tuition Waiver Program does not cover non-credit courses, such as those offered through CallDCL. The employee is responsible for any and all additional tuition and fees charged to their student account during the term. Furthermore, it is the employee’s responsibility to notify the Financial Aid Office if they have been approved for aid and are using the Faculty and Staff Tuition Waiver Program.
An Application for Tuition Waiver form must be completed for each term a course is taken. Different forms may be required to take courses at campuses other than UNCG. Employees may obtain an application through the link on this page, or in person at the Cashiers and Student Accounts Office. The application procedure is as follows:
- Apply for and be admitted through the appropriate admissions office within its specified deadlines.
- Complete the Application for Faculty and Staff Tuition Waiver form.
- Obtain advance signature approval of your supervisor, and your department head (for employees of institutions other than UNCG: follow your institution’s guidelines regarding approval signatures).
- SHRA staff and EHRA non-faculty members should deliver their completed form to the Cashiers and Student Accounts Office upon obtaining the necessary departmental signatures. EHRA faculty are required to obtain a final approval signature from the Office of the Provost prior to submitting their completed form to the Cashiers and Student Accounts Office. Both offices are located in the Mossman Administration Building at 1202 Spring Garden St.
The Office of the Provost and the Cashiers Office will verify the eligibility of the employee, and the form must then be submitted to the Cashiers Office for processing. Adjustments to your student account will occur after the first 5 days of each term in order to account for schedule changes. Employees may receive billing statements regarding charges on their student accounts. Questions regarding this policy may be directed to the Cashiers and Student Accounts Office at (336) 334-5831 or toll free at 1-877-286-8250, or in person at 151 Mossman Building, 1202 Spring Garden St., Greensboro, NC 27412.