The final round for this year’s Three-Minute Thesis (3MT) competition was held on Thursday, November 8 at 2pm in the Virginia Dare room of the Alumni House. The challenge for these ten finalists was to convey the essence and importance of their master’s thesis or doctoral dissertation research in an engaging way to a non-specialist audience in just three minutes and with one PowerPoint slide.

3MT-Finalists-2018 The top ten finalists were:

  • S Anandavalli, Counseling and Educational Development
  • Durga Majari Arvapalli, Nanoscience
  • Elvis Foli, Kinesiology
  • Linda Friend, Nutrition
  • Joseph LeBlanc, Counseling and Educational Development
  • Alla Letfullina, Nanoscience
  • Kyoungyoun Park, Kinesiology
  • Radmila Petric, Biology
  • Snehal Shah, Nanoscience
  • Yener Ulus, Biology

The judges for the final round of the competition were: Representative-Elect Ashton Clemmons, NC House District 57; Nancy Johnston, Executive Director NC Biotech Center, Piedmont Office; and Ward Russell, UNCG Board of Trustees member. The judges’ task of determining the winners was indeed a difficult one. After tallying the scores and counting the ballots submitted by the audience for the People’s Choice Award, the following students were announced as the competition winners:

Winners and Judges

First Place and $1,000: Radmila Petric, Biology
Second Place and $500: Alla Letfullina, Nanoscience
People’s Choice Award and $250: Ramila Petric, Biology.

As this year’s first place winner, Rada Petric, will represent UNCG in the Conference of Southern Graduate Schools’ regional 3MT competition in Knoxville, TN in February.

Congratulations to all of the finalists and to the winners on a job well done!