The Graduate School at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro (UNCG) is responsible for the welfare of all the graduate programs on campus and more graduate students from more than 30 states and a comparable number of foreign countries.

The University is organized into seven disciplinary units: the College of Arts and Sciences; the College of Visual and Performing Arts; the Joseph M. Bryan School of Business and Economics; the School of Education; the School of Health and Human Sciences; the School of Nursing; and the Joint School of Nanoscience and Nanoengineering, with North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University. The Graduate School has general supervision of graduate study throughout the colleges and schools.

The Vice Provost and Dean of The Graduate School is the chief administrative officer of The Graduate School, taking general responsibility for the development, improvement, and administration of all graduate study at the University. The Vice Provost and Dean of The Graduate School serves as admissions officer and administers services to graduate students and programs. All matters of policy, procedures, and graduate curriculum are developed, approved, and implemented in consultation with programs and the Graduate Studies Committee.